The Brubeck Quartet – Cathy’s Summer

$ 9.99$ 11.99

Cathy’s Summer was recorded ‘live’ at Dave O’Higgins’ studio, with the group set up in the same room (as in the old days) rather than in sound-proof booths.” Recorded in the summer of 2014 in London, the Quartet as it sounds now, with Dave O’Higgins on sax and the creative, grooving rhythm section from 2 previous CDs and many tours , play 8 originals by Darius and classics from Duke Ellington and Bing Crosby.

SKU: N/A Category: Tag:

Tracklist 11 tracks

  • 1Cathy's Summer
  • 2Fifteen
  • 3Crete
  • 4Ravely Street
  • 5I Don't Stand A Ghost Of A Chance With You
  • 6Flamingo
  • 7King Rene
  • 8Riviera Winter
  • 9Flippin' The Bird
  • 10Liberian Suite Dance 3
  • 11Before It's Too Late

About Brubecks play Brubeck

Despite pursuing separate careers and living far apart, Vancouver (Dan, drums), Connecticut (Chris, electric bass & trombone) and London (Darius, piano), the Brubecks still come together to perform their late father’s many Quartet classics.

In 2010, as BRUBECKS PLAY BRUBECK, they reunited for what was originally conceived as a ‘one-off’ tour to coincide with Dave Brubeck’s 90th birthday and the broadcast of a Clint Eastwood produced film about Dave’s career, “In His Own Sweet Way”.  However ‘Brubecks Play Brubeck’, which also includes British sax virtuoso Dave O’Higgins, has toured annually ever since, including sold-out runs at Ronnie Scott’s Jazz Club in London every year and the 2014 Brubeck Festival at Jazz at Lincoln Center in New York.  Critics and audiences alike respond to the personal involvement, musical interplay and joy on stage as the group performs music created by one of American music’s all-time greats.